top of page

Accomplished Author Who Has Traveled The World.

Updated: Sep 16, 2020

Tell us about yourself.

I grew up in California and after many years living abroad, in India, the former U.S.S.R., Vienna, London, I returned to the US and then to northern California where I’ve lived for many years in a rural community with garden and orchard.  I’ve been a college teacher, a translator, a journalist.

My website: www.barbaralbaer.com. My twitter handle is @pomegrantebarb.

How did you start your writing career?

I wrote poetry when I was young but then turned to prose, journalism in particular, worked on newspapers and wrote short stories. I’ve completed four novels published by small presses and have many articles, reviews, stories in periodicals.

Tell us about the works have you completed.

Lots of stories, of course, published and also unpublished, four novels in print. “Grisha the Scrivener” was my first, coming from my experience living in the former USSR. “The Ballet Lover”, my second novel, was inspired by the dancers who inspired me, and their flamboyant, difficult, often impossible personalities coupled with their beauty. “The Last Devadasi”, again about dance, but this time I remembered my time living in India where I studied dance with the greatest Bharatanatyam teacher in Madras, now Chennai. In that novel, my interests focused on both the wonder of the art and the caste discrimination toward the devadasis. Most recently, my family novel, “The Ice Palace Waltz” came out this year to thundering silence with the covid-19 cancellation of events. Fortunately I’ve done some Zoom presentations and hope to do more.

What was your last moment of bliss? Probably yesterday, getting into cool water on a blistering day in a heat wave.

Is the first impression people have of you accurate? I have no idea...I have grey hair now so I suppose that there are assumptions about age that come up first in peoples’ minds.

How would your friends describe you? I’ve always been outgoing but also guarded my time and privacy. I don’t like conflicts so perhaps I’m described as a peaceful person. Honest, too, I hope

What characteristics do you get complimented on the most? Probably the hard work that has gone into four novels, sometimes my cooking, very seldom my tennis playing.

What fear have you overcome? Fear of failure, it’s too late and too foolish to worry about whether you’ll fail...mostly we don’t fail, so go with that.


What are your hobbies? Love dogs. Love gardening. Love tennis.

What was your last DIY project? Most likely a garden project, like repairing hoses, mundane but necessary.

What is your favorite place to visit? Venice and Cinca Terra.

What valuable life lessons have you learned? Only half learned, drop judgments.

Do you have religious beliefs or a faith story? I’ve embraced my Jewish heritage but I’m not practicing it. 

Who is your hero and why? Love Michelle Obama. I’m pretty crazy over Roger Federer.

What’s the most interesting thing you learned this week? How our country cares about injustice...the hundreds of thousands of people who’ve come out for racial justice.

What skill would you most like to develop and why? Always want to learn better organizational skills, whether it’s keeping things tidy or getting my study in order.

What’s your favorite scent and why? Jasmine, reminds me of Indian nights.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page