top of page

Ashley—Happily Single and Mother of Three Fur Babies

Tell me about yourself(what makes you you)

That is a huge question!  What makes me ‘me’? Huh. Well, I’m a daughter, a sister, and an aunt with a lot of nieces, nephews, great-nieces, and great-nephews.I’m single and childfree by choice. I don’t have an issue with marriage or motherhood - I admire people who can do it - but that’s not the way God made me. I work at the University of Michigan, where I run a few circulation centers for AV equipment and laptop loan, so I get to see people anticipating the future of technology and help develop the next crop of employees/adults. I only have one dog and two cats, but would happily take more if I thought that they’d all get along and I would be able to give everyone the attention they deserve!

What is your favorite television series or movie?

Honestly, it depends on my mood. There are some shows I love but can’t watch certain days because I’m not in the right mood.  The three movies I watch while I’m feeling depressed are “Bringing Up Baby”, “His Girl Friday”, and “Last Holiday”.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life what would it be?

Ice cream.  I would be so happy if I could eat all the ice cream I wanted without it impacting my health or weight in a detrimental way!

What was your last moment of bliss?

I’m just getting over a wicked flu, so it was when I realized I could breathe out of my nose and wasn’t spending every other minute coughing up a lung.  The most consistent moment of bliss I get is when my headache or sinus medicine kicks in. I’m a simple girl - I just don’t want to be in pain :)

Do you have any secret obsessions?

I’m sadly addicted to the phone game Matchington Mansions.  I mean sadly addicted - I’ve finished over 2,000 levels!!

Is the first impression people have of you accurate? Wht or why not?

Probably not.  I know I have a weird personality and strange sense of humor, so I hold back when I first meet people so I can get a sense of what their tolerance levels will be.

How would your friends describe you?

Annoying, maybe? :)  Nice, I guess? I’m not good at figuring out how other people see me...

If you could meet anyone who would it be?

My mother’s grandmother, Wee Grandma.  She apparently used to hit young men with her cane if she thought they were hogging the armrest - she sounds like a lot of fun!

What did you dream of becoming as a child?

A journalist (probably a good thing I didn’t pursue that line of work!)

What is your favorite physical feature? What feature do you get compliment the on the most?

My eyes are my favorite physical feature.  I lost some weight a few years ago and people still compliment me on that, though I wish they wouldn’t - it makes me self-conscious about what I weigh.

What is your biggest fear?

Being powerless in a situation, especially if it’s a situation where people I love are hurt or otherwise suffering.  The idea of not being able to do anything to help makes my skin crawl

What fear have you overcome?

I was terrified to climb the ladder to get to the top shelf of the rare books and manuscripts stacks at Detroit Public Library.  Finally, I told myself that I couldn’t let this stop me - what if someone wanted something from the top shelf and there wasn’t anyone else around to get it? - so I had one of our pages come up with me and spot me while I made it to the top of the ladder and got a box off the shelf.

When was the last time you sang out loud?

If you just mean snippets of songs, all the time - I sing a line or two that I hear or gets stuck in my head.  The whole song through, probably the last time I was at church

What's your greatest achievement?

What is achievement?  Some days, I feel like I’m a conquering hero because I made it through the day without killing anyone or destroying my career!  I can’t say what my greatest achievement is because I hope it’s how I influence my nieces, nephews, and student employees as they go out into the world.  I did give a kidney to my dad, but it was really the doctors and nurses that did all the work - I just laid there!

What's your biggest regret?

I regret the times I didn’t listen to God’s whisper, thus forcing him to kick me in the butt to get my attention

What are your hobbies?

Reading, cooking/baking, TV and movies, exercise - all the boring, mundane stuff!

What are your religious beliefs?

I’m a Christian and Protestant, though I don’t have a denomination beyond that.

What was your last recurring dream?

Most of my recurring dreams have to do with needing to go to the bathroom or going to the bathroom but still needing to go.  I drink a lot of water!

Have you ever been star-struck?

Not really.  I’ve met a couple of famous people (most notably Detroit Tigers sportscaster Ernie Harwell), but not people in fields I’ve gotten into personally.  There have been a few times when celebrities have brought their kids to tour UM campus where I work, but I purposely don’t seek them out - I know it’s hard enough going off to college and sending your kid off to college without adding fans to the mix.  Just let it be a parent-child time!

What person would you like to meet?

Coretta Scott King.  She’s what I think of when I hear the word “classy”.

What was your last DIY project?

I assembled a TV stand for a new TV I got after the old one got fried in a power surge or something.  Basically there’s a lot of swearing, screaming, and tears whenever I do something like this!

What is the last thing you splurged on?

Girl Scout cookies - twice in one day!  I can’t walk by a troop without buying a box (I spent too many years hawking those things myself!)

What place would you like to visit?

England.  I’m a huge Anglophile

What is your favorite place to visit?

I’ve been lucky to travel every year to a different city thanks to a work-funded conference, and I’ve been to some places I wouldn’t have gone to otherwise.  Seattle was great (though it had more of an “it would be awesome to live here” vibe than a touristy town), as was St. Petersberg, FL. I spent my 38th birthday at Epcot, where they were having their Food and Wine Festival (totally unplanned on my part, but I appreciated the coincidence!)

If you were  famous what would it be for?

I don’t know.  I don’t think I’d want to be famous - I’d prefer to be respected.  Fame seems like such a hassle

What is your favorite restaurant?

I don’t eat out too much.  There’s a restaurant called Ama’s near campus that I’ve never gotten a bad meal from.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page