top of page

How Writer Taryn Ambrose Has Coped with Severe Scoliosis

Tell us about yourself I’m from a little state,Vermont, born and raised. I still reside there. My family consists of my parents (mom and dad) and my older brother. 

I was born with Severe Scoliosis (the official term is Severe Idiopathic  Infantile Scoliosis). I had a curvature of 174 degrees in the shape of a C (my spine was in the shape of a C). At age four, I had to have a Halo-Traction - screws were drilled into my skull to hold the device in place. After that, I had growth rods that I would get lengthened once a year for about a decade, and then at age thirteen, I had the Spinal Fusion. My body now holds ten pounds of Titanium Steel in my spine. 

Currently, I am a college student - in my Junior year - where my major is English and my minor is Psychology. I work on campus in the library where I assist my fellow students and staff with checking out books and other materials. 

My parents and older brother have been nothing but supportive of my choices and continue to give me the love and the support I need with every new project or challenge I take on. My mother is a housewife, bustling around our home to take care of things for all of us; my father is a trimmer in a slate quarry - a manual labor job; and my brother works at a tire warehouse where he delivers and picks up tires. 

I have recently started my social media pages as I would like to connect with fans before publishing any works. You can find me on: 

Facebook: Taryn Ambrose - Author Twitter: tambroseauthor Instagram: tarynambrose author

How did you start your writing career? I began writing stories at age thirteen and began writing on Wattpad. I wrote fanfiction at first to get experience before moving on to writing my own original stories. My father was a writer when he was younger, so I guess I got my love for the art of writing from him.

What works have you completed? I don’t have anything published yet. But, I have completed a series about wrestling that I am currently editing. It explores the art of wrestling and the rivalries within the business. 

What was your last moment of bliss? I think my last moment of bliss would probably be when I had my last spinal surgery - the Spinal Fusion. It was a huge moment for me and my family because of the long journey I had gone through with those surgeries. It’s a moment I’ll never forget. Is the first impression people have of you accurate? I think so. From what I’ve heard, people think I’m friendly, kind, and sometimes shy, and that’s definitely me! How would your friends describe you? My friends would describe me as a person who is outgoing, friendly, and caring. I’m determined and understanding of others and I’m always willing to give a helping hand when necessary. What characteristics do you get complimented on the most? I get complimented on my hair and my smile a lot. A lot of people like how long and soft my hair is and they say I have a pretty smile. What fear have you overcome? As strange as this sounds: the dark! I’ve always been afraid of the dark because you never know what it’s in it, and I’ve overcome that and become more comfortable within it. In fact, I sometimes actually prefer the dark. Also, the fear of being alone. I used to hate being alone and would dread it, but now, I’m more comfortable with my own company. 


What are your hobbies? 

I have a lot of hobbies! I love writing, reading, video-editing, gardening, crafting,baking,  etc. I like the idea of having multiple hobbies - probably because I tend to get bored easily. 

What was your last DIY project? A wreath I made my mom for mother’s day. What is your favorite place to visit? There is a mall about two hours away from where I live that I absolutely adore. I try to go there at least once a year for some shopping! I’ve also gone to New York City on a high school field trip and I would love to go back! It was so beautiful and I enjoyed the experience. 

What valuable life lessons have you learned? I have learned that it’s okay to say no and it’s okay to choose options for yourself; it’s not selfish, it’s necessary. Be yourself unapologetically. These are life lessons I still sometimes have to remind myself of. 

Who is your hero and why? I have two heroes. First, my mother. She has always been there for me and even now that I’m an adult, she still gives me advice and helps me when I need her. She has always supported me and my choices. The second is my father. He helped me a lot through all of my medical problems (as did my mom) and pushed me when I needed it. He gives me advice and lessons when I need them but, like my mother, is there when I need a shoulder to cry on. 

What’s the most interesting thing you learned this week? I learned a new dance! I’ve recently begun dancing as my exercise routine  and I learned a new one. I also learned how to use a new video editing program! What skill would you most like to develop and why? I would like to learn how to sing or play an instrument. I love music and have always felt a connection to it. In school, I was always in Chorus. I think it would be so much fun to learn! What’s your favorite scent and why? I’d say vanilla or brownies when they’re in the oven. They smell delicious and I smell them a lot when I’m baking. 















36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page