top of page

Mildred— Friendly Hard Worker

Tell me about yourself. Do you have any unique circumstances, struggles, or experiences?

I was born in Mexico. I came to the USA when I was five-years-old. Being an immigrant has been a struggle.  Especially when it comes to finding a job and getting my driver's license. But thankfully I have my DACA [Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals] and on the path to get my green card.  I have also struggled with my weight and body image but my husband manages to tell me how beautiful I am everyday.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life what would it be?

Sugar cookies!

What was your last moment of bliss?

We just moved into a new apartment and the lease is under my name!

Do you have any secret obsessions?

I love freezing gansitos or thin mints and eating them frozen.

Is the first impression people have of you accurate?

I think so. I always try to treat people the way I like to be treated, which is with kindness.

How would your friends describe you?

Sweet, hard worker and friendly.

What did you dream of becoming as a child?

A teacher.

What characteristics do you get complimented on the most?

How friendly I am with others and my smile.

What is your biggest fear?

Roller coasters.

What fear have you overcome?

Being able to leave a job that was stressful and getting a new job. I was the type of person that was scared to leave a place because I knew what the impact would be if I left, or felt that people would be angry with me.

When was the last time you sang out loud?

This morning!

What thing don't most people know about you?

I get nervous when I have to talk to people on the phone...sometimes I overthink things.

What's your greatest achievement?

Being able to run a half marathon without stopping.

What are your hobbies?

Singing, hiking and running on occasion.

What person would you like to meet? What one question would you ask them?

My great-great-grandparents from my dad's side. I want to know where our Mayan ancestry started.

What was your last DIY project?

I made Winnie the Pooh Disney ears.

What was your favorite food as a child?

Spaghetti.

Where would you like to visit?

Spain.

What’s your favorite place to visit?

Yosemite, California.

What valuable life lessons have you learned?

That not everyone will treat you fairly not everyone is as kind as you think. You can’t let people walk all over you and I have learned to stick up for myself.

Do you have religious beliefs?

Christian

Who is your hero and why?

My mom because she has always been there for us. She is always supporting our decisions and even though I am married she is always helping us out. I look up to her very much and hope to be a mother like her.

What’s the most interesting thing you learned this week?

That many people procrastinate and leave everything till the very end.

Who’s your favorite fictional character and why?  (any media type)

Winnie the Pooh, I have always loved him because he is always surrounded by his friends and is also a great cuddly bear.

What was your first job?  What do you do now?

I was a courtesy clerk for Albertsons. Now I work at Westfield Topanga and the Village as concierge.

If money were no issue, what passion would you follow and why?

Being able to travel all around and see all the beauty that lies in this world.

What skill would you most like to develop and why?

Being able to talk to people and be less shy and awkward. To sound more confident—I want conversations to be flow better.

What is your superpower? (everyone has at least one!)

Speaking Spanish

What was the last thing that surprised you?

How many things we have held on to for ten years! We have recently moved and we went through some of our old stuff.



Strawberry because I love the fruity smell

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page