top of page

Nancy from YouTube: Korean but not Korean



Tell me about yourself. Do you have any unique circumstances, struggles, or experiences?


My name is Nancy (it’s a nickname ). I live in South Korea. I am a student, manager in a company, English language teacher, funny friend, mother of a cute puddle and to my boyfriend(laughs out loud). Don’t think he is a lazy guy. He is very hardworking but he says that I am just like his mom. I am from Kyrgyzstan, a country in Central Asia. I lived in the USA as an exchange student for a year and during that time I got into the habit of volunteering and making some fun projects with kids. Nowadays I am a vlogger on YouTube and Instagram( ID: nancycouple) telling people about my daily life with my boyfriend. My boyfriend is a Korean so I make pretty good Korean food!


If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life what would it be?

“닭갈비’” (dalg-galbi) it’s a fried chicken with vegetables, rice and side dishes.


What was your last moment of bliss?

When I finished a long and busy day of school and work right before the corona virus quarantine.


Do you have any secret obsessions? Well, I don’t have any secret obsessions anymore. Before, I was obsessed with writing black humor comics and drawing them. Now I am starting to write short stories on Instagram and draw little funny comics about my life. I like it.


How would your friends describe you?

My friends will describe me as funny, interesting, legendary and as a person who likes some alone-time at home—to get some rest when others are going out.


What did you dream of becoming as a child?

When I was seven-years-old I wanted to become a ballerina but we didn’t have any dance clubs or academies in my town because it was not well developed. Even though there is a population of five-hundred-thousand people, we don’t have a cinema, supermarkets, or clubs of any kind. When I was ten I dreamt of becoming an astronaut.


What characteristics do you get complimented on the most?

Caring about others, being empathetic— being able to put myself in other people’s positions, and being diligent.


What is your biggest fear?

Ending up back in my country. I don’t wanna go back to my country at all. 


What fear have you overcome?

Fear of showing my weaknesses to others and accepting when I’m wrong. I don’t always need to be strong or the leader to survive.

Another fear I overcame was my fear of dogs. I was terrified of them after a huge dog attacked and bit me. It took me two years to overcome my fear but when I did I was able to adopt my current dog.


When was the last time you sang out loud?

It was three days ago when my boyfriend and I celebrated our anniversary. Other than that I usually sing at home while I am doing something.


What thing don't most people know about you?

Looking at my appearance people think I am quiet and a shy girl but in reality, I love challenges and extreme sports.


What's your greatest achievement?

I think about my entire life and everything that I have done and had.


What are your hobbies?

I love doing yoga, riding bikes, drawing, cleaning at home and throwing away old things. 


What was your last DIY project?

Two months ago my boyfriend and I opened a new coffee shop and moved into a new house. Since we didn’t have enough money to hire anyone, we did every single detail in the coffee shop ourselves and designed our new home. We made new shelves, ran the electricity, etc.



What place would you like to visit?

Amazon jungles. I love wild green plants and forests.  


What’s your favorite place to visit?

I have a few. But the best one was South Padre Island in Texas. I loved the beach and the atmosphere there. I would love to go back one more time. 


What valuable life lessons have you learned?

I learned that I need to listen to people and try to put myself in their shoes. I need to be careful with my words and not be selfish. Also, I learned that maintaining love and making a family is hard work. There aren’t any vacations. 


Do you have religious beliefs or a faith story?

People in my country are mostly Muslims but they don’t practice that often.  I accept all the religions. I am not Muslim but I believe in God. I am interested in churches and temples in Korea so I don’t think I have one particular religion. 


Who is your hero?

Well, I am not sure. I don’t have a particular hero. For me, it’s everyone around me. When I talk and meet people every day, it seems like everyone is a hero in this life. Everyone has their own stories of their achievement or superpowers. So when I see them, I learn something from each one.



What’s the most interesting thing you learned this week?

I learned that I need to expect less from people [my expectations are too high].


Who’s your favorite fictional character ?

I like Harry Potter and Sponge Bob.  And I like to watch reality T.V. shows, comedy, and horror.


What was your first job and what do you do now?

My country is poor. In 2008 we had economic crises where my family didn’t have any money. At that time my mom gave birth to her third child, my little sister, Alisa. So to make money we all left for another city—popular for tourists. I was eight-years-old. Since my mom was the head of our family she found jobs for everyone. She found me a job at a little convenience store by the beach— where one sells things through a window. I had to sit all day for three months and sell things, but we made a good profit.  Since then we haven’t seen such difficult times.

If money were no issue, what passion would you follow?

I would open a store and design clothes. I love making stylish looks for women in their twenties. I would really love to do that!


What skill would you most like to develop?

I speak four languages right now, but I want to learn more—as many as possible. And I would like to learn about design and advanced computer. 


What is your superpower? 

Making something broken work, finding lost things, calming down people and staying calm during disastrous moments. 


What was the last thing that surprised you?

When I got a job offer a week ago to work with one of the writers in Korea as a journalist.


What’s your favorite scent?

I use Victoria’s Secret “ Pure Seduction”. It makes me feel comfortable. It reminds me of all the good things that have happened to me and reminds me that I am still young and can do something great.











12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page