top of page

Putting the key in the Ignition (excerpt from Just Josephine Age Fifteen)

Updated: Jan 29, 2020

Josephine followed Morgan to her bedroom.

She had always envied Morgan’s bedroom. 

“I wish I could have a bedroom like this.”

“You always say that every time you come over,” Morgan laughed. “and believe me, if I could give it to you I would. I’m seventeen-years-old now and I have the same pink canopy bed my parents bought for my sixth birthday!”

Josephine sighed, “But everything is so pretty and it matches. It’s the perfect bedroom.”

“It WAS the perfect room for me.” Morgan emphasized. “My parents refuse to buy a new bedroom set. They say they have to save every penny for my college.”

“Why don’t you ask Lizzy if she’ll buy you a new set?”

“Hmm, she might, but she’s saving for her dream wedding.” Morgan rolled her eyes as she handed Josephine a change of clothes.

“What’s wrong with that? You don’t think she should spend money on her wedding?”

“Well, my father said he’ll pay for all expenses if she wants a wedding in Morocco where all my dad’s family is. But Lizzie wants to get married in L.A. where her friends are, but where it’s also a lot more expensive. So, she and her finance have to pay for it.”

“I think a Moroccan wedding sounds enticing. But I can’t blame her for wanting a wedding where her friends and family are.” Josephine paused. “ I can’t wait until I get married.

“Josephine, that’s like ten years away for you, at least.”

“Maybe...but some people get married young.”

“Not you...and not me. We’ll be career women first then have husbands later.”

“Well, what about boyfriends?”

“I guess boyfriends are okay. But he’d have to know I’m not kissing or putting out until I’m married.”

“You won’t even kiss until you’re married?”

“No, my mother says when you kiss someone, it's like putting the keys in the car ignition. Once the keys are in, the temptation to drive is more likely to overcome you.”


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page