top of page

How I started Writing

I had the idea for my book for a really long time. Like I've said before, many of my characters came from daydreaming I did when I was as young as four years old. The characters have evolved a lot since then but some qualities like altruism or beauty are still in the main characters today. This summer, second week of July 2019 to be exact, I woke up one day and decided to write. I grabbed a notebook (an actual paper notebook for the Dollar General) and started writing. I wrote all day. The next day I wrote again all day and that continued all week. By the end of two weeks I had filled six notebooks, and my family thought I had gone insane. Week three I started to transcribe everything into the computer. It was then I realized why most writers just type their stories from their heads into the computer; it was such a daunting task that took another entire week. However, I think I needed to start with the notebooks, otherwise I may have not written so much. My creative juices were gushing out and I am a much faster writer with pen and paper than on a keyboard. When I finished I had a lot of editing to do...A LOT OF EDITING----- but I felt a great sense of accomplishment. That feeling pushed me forward each day through all the edits, criticism, and suggestions from my "editor" (best friend) to rewrite the entire second half of the story. I am excited that I'm closer than ever to seeing Breaking Through: Just Josephine in book form!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page