top of page

Tammy—Writer—“If you think service is beneath you then leadership is beyond you.”



How did you start writing?

I think I was born a writer.  One of my first memories is following my mother around the house asking her to write down a story I was going to tell her.  I haven’t stopped telling stories since.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life what would it be?

Definitely seafood!

What was your last moment of bliss?

I think I would have to say when we got an unexpected day off work in the middle of the week due to lack of heat.  I felt like a kid on a snow day.

Do you have any secret obsessions?

Yes….and they’re going to remain a secret!

Is the first impression people have of you accurate?

I don’t know what kind of first impression people get, but if someone is meeting me socially for the first time, I would have to say that a first impression might not be accurate.  People tend to think I’m quiet, until they get to know me.

How would your friends describe you?

I think they might say I was kind, somewhat reclusive, introverted, detail-oriented, funny, sarcastic, a lateral thinker and willing to speak my mind on issues I think are important.

If you could meet anyone who would it be?

It would be a group of people really, my sisters and brother.  We were all raised apart, and I never knew they existed until a few months ago.  I’d love to meet them in person.

What did you dream of becoming as a child?

A writer.

What characteristic do you get complimented on the most?

My ability to simplify complex ideas.

What is your biggest fear?

Failing when people I care about are relying on me.

What fear have you overcome?

Public speaking.  I still get anxious, but it doesn’t stop me.

When was the last time you sang out loud?

In front of people, when I was in high school as part of the choir.  On my own, this morning.

What's your greatest achievement?

I don’t really think of my life in terms of achievements, but I think my greatest blessing is the amazing people in my life.

What are your hobbies?

Wow, that’s a long list.  Quilting, knitting, crocheting, counted cross stitch, and interesting math problems.

What was your last DIY project?

I’m more of a crafter, but the last thing I made was the Papillion shawl.

What was your favorite food as a child?

Spaghetti.

What place would you like to visit?

That’s a long list, and a rather large chunk of the world.  I guess the places that have been on that list the longest are Scotland and Ireland.

What’s your favorite place to visit?

Las Vegas!

What valuable life lessons have you learned?.

Teams, real teams that have each other’s backs, are precious, fragile and powerful.  They have to be carefully and thoughtfully cultivated.

Predatory people are some of the most charming you’ll meet.

Never let anyone else tell you who you are.

If you think service is beneath you then leadership is beyond you.

Do you have religious beliefs or a faith story?

I have faith that there is a higher power…but I think religion is the opposite of faith.

Who is your hero and why?

I admire qualities in people rather than one person.  I admire people who are kind, who take the time to teach even when dictating would be more expedient, who have the strength of their convictions, who do what they know to be right even when it isn’t popular, who wants to bring other people together, who empower others

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page