top of page

Teresa’s making an impact





I grew up in a family that wasn’t very wealthy. My twin and I are the oldest of five. My mom married a Carpenter later on [and things improved financially]. At eighteen I eloped with my husband who was in military boot camp at the time. I followed him up to Michigan. We will celebrate thirty-six years of marriage this August. It’s not always easy but we have a great relationship.

In school, the counselor told me I would never amount to anything because I came from a low income family. I was told I’d only be good for being barefoot and pregnant. I’ve proved them wrong by making my mark in the world. I’m making a difference. 

What are your hobbies? Paper crafting and camping. My favorite place to camp is Muskellunge State Park in the UP. 

Do you have any recurring dreams? I don’t dream because I don’t sleep well.

What was your last DIY project? Remodeling our kitchen. We did all the countertops, took out laminate, and put in butcher block. 

What did you dream of becoming when you were a child? A nurse or a flight attendant. We didn’t have the income for me to go to school to become a nurse and the first time I flew I felt sick— so becoming a flight attendant was no longer an option either. I ended up going to school for a career in the travel industry. 

What important lessons did you learn last year? To take each day one day at a time and don’t stress over the little things. 

What accomplishment are you most proud off? When I set a goal I meet it.

Is there any word you always have trouble spelling? No. But, my neighbors always call me when they need to spell the word ‘appreciate’. Sometimes I have trouble with [homophones ] deciphering which word to use. 

Do you think people’s first impression of you is accurate? Yes, I try to be myself.I’m very nice, very open,and trusting. 

Are you spiritual? I believe in God and pray to God. I grew up in a Southern Baptist church but am not currently attending one. I have not connected with one in my area.

Tell me about your career

 I’m one of the top three Area Coordinators for ASSE foreign exchange. I’m passionate about students and cultures.

I’ve always been interested in cultures,probably because I didn’t know my own family history. My mother’s father passed away when she was young. My father left when I was six and my mother never talked about him again. 

What was it like growing up with a twin? Even though we dressed the same,we were very different. We’d always get the same toy for our birthday. We’d only get one present and have to share it...but my mom had five kids [money was tight]. 

In fifth grade we rebelled and said we weren’t alike and stopped dressing the same. I was more observant and my sister was more adventurous.

What person would you swap lives with for one week? With someone who is down on their luck, so I can appreciate things more.

Who is your hero? My grandmother. She was my mom when my own mom was working. She was very wise and always honest with me. 

Contact Teresa if you would like to host an exchange student or if you have a student in high school who would like to study abroad.Teresa@asse.com





























16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page